What School Looks Like Today

There is still baked oatmeal breakfast shrapnel on the counter, but thankfully enough space for Gabe to do a bit of school work.  🙂  Changing locale every 40 minutes or so helps that boy to get his work done.   I’m happy I can accomodate his needs. 

Caleb, on the other hand, needs the structure of a table in front of him.  He whips through is handwriting practice in no time.  

For the most part, Eden likes to be close to me.  I think this tendency, more than anything else, has to do with her need for an audience for the constant chatter.   Today, though, she seems more focussed and I am able to figure out if I have all necessary ingredients for supper.  Tonight I’m making Edie’s Cheeseburger {in paradise} Soup.  I’ve been thinking about it since Monday, so I think today’s the day!

Not all days offer such smooth sailing; a great many do not.   Yesterday was not one of our finer days, but today looked different.   This morning I woke up and got a double batch of Baked Oatmeal in the oven.  We had breakfast as a family before David rushed off to work.  I did some blog reading, hopped in the shower and threw in a load of laundry.  By the time I came downstairs, the boys had already done their devotion and prayer and were digging into the Audio CD of Anne of Green Gables.  

All of this was on their own.

And BEFORE 9am. 

Three cheers for independence and diligence! 

In light of their great initiative, they chose some music to play.  Caleb selected one of his favourite songs:  Piano Man.  Half way through, Gabe came to where I sat at the dining room table, and asked in his best British accent, “May I have this dance?”

Well, of course you may.

Then Eden got in on the action and danced with her biggest brother.

Caleb, knowing that Piano Man was coming to an end, put on another favourite:  Robin William’s singing Prince Ali (from Aladdin).  Oh my.   Do you know the one?   You can see it here.   Do it, so I’m not the only one who can’t get it out of her head.  

And then, the crazy dancing started.  Shaking the sillies out is something we try do with some regularity.  

Yes, it has been a great school day, and it’s not even over yet.

But the highlight of my week thus far was yesterday, when Gabe came in for a great big hug and said “Mom, this house is just so full of love…”

And that is what this whole thing is all about.

Leave a Reply

