The Season’s First Snow

The kids are doing remarkably well with our homeschooling this week, enjoying the new curriculum, jumping into their work early and without my prompting, working through problems (and even corrections)  — calmly and patiently.  I’m sure David is tired of hearing me talk about how terrific this week has been, but it’s been GREAT!   The icing on the cake, however, was the snow that came yesterday.  It started at about 8:00 am…

…and it continued all day.

 It was a snow day here in our county, but considering the time we took off this fall, we opted to work through the day anyway.  Before hitting the books, we did a bit of last minute yard clean up by removing the pile of gravel from the driveway.  Our front walkway was completed the previous day (nice timing!), and the gravel had to be moved in order to use the snowblower.  The kids were great about getting down to business outside (moving gravel is HARD WORK), and equally good about their school work. 

After lunch, of course, they were back outside. 

David took the afternoon off to watch the kids while I worked, but I did manage to snap a couple photos of them in the yard.   This makes me thankful for the father my kids have.  🙂 

I must say I am grateful for the seasons.  I look forward to throwing open the windows on the first sunny spring day, and I look forward to the crispness of winter, drinking apple cider and hunkering down by the fire with books on the day of the first snow.

And that’s exactly what we did. 

And it’s exactly 1 month to my favourite day of the year!  Happy Winter to All!

Leave a Reply

