Treading Water

My last post (4 weeks ago!) was a sudden drop off from my involvement in the 31 Days series that I very quickly decided to jump into, so it’s no surprise that things have been completely upside down and inside out around here lately.  We’re slowly working our way through our renovations, our Community Christmas dinner planning meetings have picked up, I’m working on fundraising for a Mission to Uganda in 2012, and I’ve got clients out the wazoo.  I try to schedule them appropriately, but sometimes a bottle neck is unavoidable.  

Do you ever feel that there are times when you’re just doing the bare minimum to get by?  That’s where I am now with so many things in my life.  Our meal situation lately has been less than ideal.  The laundry is piling up.  My bedroom has become a household dumping ground rather than the peaceful sanctuary it’s supposed to be.  I’m not spending the time I should with the boys’ school work.  I’m taking the easy road with my Junior Church lessons.  I’m just treading water, trying to get through the long list of things to do.  

Fact is, I’m far too busy and I don’t like it. 

But what can I do about it? 

Well, for starters, I can pray.  Pray for patience and calm and for help in getting me step by step through this mountain I’ve created. 

Secondly, I can pick away at things, bit by bit.  I’ve been painting our new powder room since last week.  It’s something that should take an afternoon, but I don’t HAVE an afternoon.  So instead, I’ve spent 5 days in there, doing little bits with the 20 minutes here and 30 minutes there that I manage to find.  Still, I’m only at the first coat.  It’s not ideal, but it is what it is…  my reality.  Bit by teensy tiny bit is the only way things are able to get done around here. 

I can continue to get up early.  My internal alarm clock has been successfully adjusted to spring me out of bed between 5:30 and 6:00 am each day, and what a difference it makes in the rest of my day!  I get a bit of time to myself to enjoy a coffee and work or read or blog (ha!) before the troops march down the stairs at 7:00.  It’s glorious and I need to keep it up. 

Additionally, I must, must, MUST say ‘no’ more often.  I’ve actually been doing pretty well with it, but I have told myself that in the New Year (after the Community Christmas Dinner and our big New Year’s Eve party is behind us and once I have a few work projects marked off my list), I will reduce the number of simultaneous clients.   I have already told some that I can’t take anything new for 3 months, and I think that’s the way it’s going to have to be if I am to keep some of my sanity. 

For now, I will tread water.  But I won’t tread it in a crazed panic with arms flailing all over the place.   Everyone knows how unproductive that is.  

No, instead I will tread slowly, calmly and steadily, seeking the joy in the warmth of the water, ever with my eye on the shore.

Leave a Reply

