Day 17: Eye on the Prize

Part and parcel of getting a new chimney and fireplace involves stacking the wood to burn in it.  We had the first half of our wood delivered on Monday, and after getting them started (and establishing the ‘ends’), the kids were really able to pitch in and help get it stacked. 

We do not pay our children for their household tasks, as we believe pretty strongly that much of what needs to be done needs to be done simply because we are a team.  We do it because it needs to be done, not because there is a dollar figure attached.  However, once or twice a year, for unique tasks like this, the kids get a little something for their hard work. 

In this case, they know there is a cash reward.  They are working their buns off to work that pile down to nothing.  Caleb and Eden have always been pretty diligent workers, but this time, Gabe is right there alongside them… WITHOUT me having to suggest it.  The boys were out there for over an hour yesterday morning before I even knew what they were doing.  Good on them!

Day 17: 

Sometimes a little motivation goes a long, long way. 

This has me thinking about other areas of my life that could benefit from a motivation boost.  Should I be giving myself little rewards here and there for journeying along on my path of intention?   

Maybe I should treat myself to a little something for getting some of the tougher things done.   A contribution toward a trip away with my beloved?  A new handbag or a pair of shoes?  Something to keep me from procrastinating. 

But sometimes motivation comes simply in the joy my kids express when I make time amid the busyness to play a game.  

And sometimes motivation is the simple desire of getting things done.  (Ahem.  Laundry.)

But if I could tackle things with as much gusto as my kids used tackled that wood, I’d be laughing.  LAUGHING I tell you.

This post has been linked to the 31 DAYS series.  You can start from the beginning here, and check out the other 31 Dayers here by visiting The Nester.

Leave a Reply

