Day 8: A Hard Deadline

Yes, I am late with Day 8. 

Sure, it fits with my tendencies for procrastination, but it also fits with my desire to be more intentional about what we do as a family.  Fact is, yesterday was an early morning… up and at em to go deep-sea fishing.  

We have lived in Nova Scotia, dubbed “Canada’s Ocean Playground” for nine years now.  For nine years, we’ve talked about going deep-sea fishing with my dad.  Well, this was the year.

Groupon had a crazy deal on a 4-pass (only 4 would be interested in going) so I scooped it up back in May.   I had to get in this week, or I’d miss the boat, literally and figuratively.    So I booked it. 

Day 8:

Setting a hard deadline can be an extremely helpful tool in accomplishing goals.  Booking an activity (especially if you pre-pay for it) increases the likelihood of actually doing it.   

It was a wonderful day, filled with great memories for all of us. 

This post has been linked to the 31 DAYS series.  You can start from the beginning here, and check out the other 31 Dayers here by visiting The Nester.

Leave a Reply

