The Mission of Motherhood

I love great messages of inspiration. 

I write them out, put them on my fridge, write them on my chalk board, highlight them in my bible.  I draw so much strength and focus from a handful of otherwise ordinary words put together to deliver a powerful message and hit you square in the face when you need it. 

We need reminders as Mamas. 

They come to us in a variety of forms at a variety of times for a variety of reasons.  This one came to me a couple years ago and it’s been resting at eye level on my fridge, right in my face where I can draw from it daily.   It just sums it up so perfectly for me, my family, and our desire to follow Christ.     

And the fundamental mission of motherhood now is the same as it always was:

         to nurture, protect, and instruct children,

         to create a home environment that enables them to learn and grow,

         to help them develop a heart for God and his purposes,

         and to send them out into the world

                      prepared to live both fully and meaningfully

It’s up to us to embrace that mission as our own,

         trusting God to walk us through the details

         and to use our willing mothers hands as instruments of his blessing.

Sally Clarkson from The Mission of Motherhood

Amen to that! 

This post has been linked Finer Things Friday over at Amy’s Finer Things.  

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mariposa
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 09:11:41

    Great quote! I’m going to have to read that book. I’m going to be a first-time mom in just a few days! 🙂

    Reply

    • joyandcontentment
      Jun 03, 2011 @ 09:47:07

      Ooohh!!! The excitement! Your life is going to change in all the best ways! Blessings to you and your family in the coming days and the first weeks of getting to know eachother!!

      Reply

  2. Miranda
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 15:17:59

    Amen! Mamas really do need a lot of encouragement and this post was wonderful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

