Someday

Did you ever see ‘Knight and Day’ with Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz?  It was cute, funny and highly unrealistic.  It just what I needed on the day I happened to see it.  But the best take-away from the movie was Tom’s definition of “someday:” 

“Someday. That’s a dangerous word. It’s really just a code for ‘never’.”

And it got me thinking. 

It’s a word I say a lot. 

It’s a word that doesn’t really play well in to my goal of total contentment and intentional living.   It means I’m longing for something else. 

I don’t want to be longing for something else.  I want to be living in the here and now, enjoying it all, living fully.

That is not to say, of course, that we shouldn’t have patience for some things.  I would like to go to Greece someday, but it’s just not in the budget right now so it will have to wait until it is.  I want more time to do things for myself, but I’m able to recognize what season of life I’m in and I know that someday my kids won’t need me quite as much.  Someday I will have time to do more things for me.  

But for many of the things in life, someday really should be today. 

I should be saying yes more often. 

Away I go now. 

I’m going to make some banana muffins with extra chocolate chips. 

Then I’m going to get out the paints and do a fun craft with the kids.  I prefer to save the paints for outside on the grass (so I can mow it off rather than clean it up because I’m lazy that way), but it’s raining again still.  No, no.  Today, we paint on the floor! 

I am embracing the NOW after all…  

This is me and my attempt to live with a little less “someday” and a lot more “today.”

 ___________________

And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. 

It’s the life in your years. 

                                                                              ~Abraham Lincoln

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Christine
    May 25, 2011 @ 14:48:09

    I have been coming to this very same conclusion…I want to enjoy each day with my children as if it were my last! Blessings to you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

