Informed Choice & A Much Loved Book

Back in 1999 when I was pregnant with Gabriel, I received a gift from my Aunt.  It was a book.  It looked very good to me at the time, but I really had no idea 11 years later that I’d still love that book so much.

Over the years, I’ve repeatedly given it as a baby shower gift.  Despite the title, the book is really great for anyone, but I found the content especially valuable as a new mother.  Over the years, I’ve even taken it with me on road trips, along with my little arsenal of homeopathic remedies. 

Oh yes, yes I have.

The main benefit of this book is that it lists conditions and ailments in alphabetical order, describes them in detail and then proceeds to give you multiple approaches to treatment.  I think this is key because it allows people to read about the various approaches and then choose what is best for them.   It allows people to make an informed choice. 

In each section, there is an explanation of the symptoms, an indication of other similar infections (and how to compare them), as well as a section in the margin called “When to Call the Doctor.”  Then it proceeds to outline the approaches to treatment, and also key recommendations for prevention:

– Conventional Treatment 

– Dietary Guidelines

– Herbal Treatment

– Homeopathy

– Bach Flower Remedies

– Acupressure

– General Recommendations

– Prevention

I find that so often, traditional medicine is so quickly (and many times detrimentally) relied upon as the only way to solve a problem.  In our family (barring emergencies of course), we choose to first go the natural route (mainly nutritional, homeopathic and chiropractic – unfortunately not included in this book) and then move through the other treatments only if we need to.   With three kids and 11 years of parenting, I can only think of one instance where we’ve needed anything medicinal.  That was a brief experiment with Tylenol about 2 years ago, when Caleb opted to go back to the homeopathics because he insisted they worked better.  I’m not saying there is no place for synthetic medicines, but in our house they are a last resort. 

I know I’ve been blessed with healthy children, but I also believe that their immune systems are strong because their bodies have been built up.  They have largely learned how to heal themselves and fight against illness.  Each time they get sick, they actually get stronger. 

So yes, this book has been a wonderful tool for me.  The beauty of it is that it presents options that may have otherwise been unknown to the reader.  It allows you to read about them and make an informed choice.  That is a beautiful thing.   

I just recently bought two gift copies on Amazon – a newer edition than my 90’s version (which I should update some time).  Here’s the link.     (And look at all those great reviews!  I guess I’m not the only one who loves it!)

Since this book is a Finer Thing in my mind, I’ve linked up with Amy’s Finer Things Friday.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ann
    Mar 04, 2011 @ 15:03:28

    Very nice post.
    I am very much of the same opinion, even though in that past, as a new mom, I have done alot of tylenol and ibuprofen – because that is what the doctor said. But every time, I feel bad about it, too.
    I grew up with all kinds of home remedies. And now, I am finding myself trying to remember them all, in order to use them for my kids.
    You know, I will look for the book…. sounds like a good investment!
    Thanks for sharing,

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Choosing Better Products « Joy and Contentment

Leave a Reply

