Awesome & Easy Chocolate Cake

I so enjoy coming up with a great birthday cake for my kids. 

It becomes something extra special for them to look forward to on their big day.  They sometimes ask for a white cake, but mostly it’s this deliciously moist chocolate cake recipe that I’ve  been using for 6 or 7 years now.  It’s just soooo good. 

The recipe is not one that would fall in the “healthy and wholesome” category, but really, who needs healthy and wholesome on their birthday anyway?   

2 cups white sugar  (that is not a typo)
1 3/4 cups flour
3/4 cups cocoa powder
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt

2 eggs
1 cup milk
1/2 cup oil
2 tsp vanilla

1 cup boiling water

1) In a medium bowl (the big pampered chef measuring cup bowl is perfect), mix together first six ingredients with a spoon.

2) Add next four ingredients. Mix with electric mixer for a couple of minutes.

3) Add boiling water and stir in by hand, until well combined.

Pour evenly into 2 greased and floured 9″ pans.  Really, do the flour step.  You’ll be glad you did. 

Instead of a layered cake, you could do a slab.  Or do a slab and 6 ramekins for that Lego block cake I did.  Or you could use an oven safe bowl for a Barbie Cake (which is what I’m thinking might be Eden’s 5th birthday this summer).   Or, if you live near a Bulk Barn, you could rent one of a several dozen cake pans from for $1.99 a day.  Have fun and experiment!  

Bake in 350 oven for 30 to 35 minutes or until inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Cool before frosting.

This recipe has been linked to Tasty Tuesday over at Beauty and Bedlam.     For months, I’ve had a post sitting in my draft folder about the ‘dirty dozen.’   Jen’s post today is about the Dirty Dozen AND the Clean Fifteen.  I’ve not seen the Clean Fifteen list before, so it’s a great post to read.  It may be a while before I share mine, but I’ll certainly be adding this extra info when I do!   Thanks Jen!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon Snyder
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 13:49:13

    Hi Trina,
    I too used to love making cakes for the kids….I have one or two books on just cut up cakes (as opposed to shaped pan cakes) if you ever would like to borrow them. You always have such great ideas.
    Sharon xo

    Reply

    • joyandcontentment
      Mar 01, 2011 @ 13:58:02

      Thanks Sharon! The kids usually tell me what they want and then I find a way to figure it out. I’ve cut out cakes too (like the pony cake in the picture) and I’ve found you can pretty much do anything you want. That’s one kind of challenge I really enjoy! I’ll let you know if I need to borrow the books. Thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

