This is the stuff You use.

 

“Your life is an occasion.  Rise to it! “

– Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium

It’s a remarkable thing, this gift of a life we’ve all been given.  It’s so very precious and ridiculously short.

Well, this life is anyway.  The next is eternal. 

Talk about a gift!

Of course, some days it seems impossible to rise to the occasion, doesn’t it ?  Some days start out okay, but quickly turn into one blunder after another – stupid mistakes, rash reactions, a snowball of YUCK and a desire to simply shut it all out.  Those are the days you just want to crawl back under the covers, push pause on everything outside your door and just keep it that way for a while. 

Instead, life still continues on around us whether we’re rising to it or not.  The kids still wake up, they still require food and direction and discipline.  The bickering between them will happen regardless of whether or not you are there to hear it.   

Yes, life goes on. 

Each of those little nit-picky things seem like a little building block of our life; each a small piece of who we are.  It’s not that I’m a culmination of the incidents themselves, but rather how I deal with them.  I don’t want to be a lego-human made up of anger and frustration, foul words and regret.  I want my building blocks to be made of kindness, respect, love, intention and grace.  

That’s what I’m striving for each day.  It’s not my accomplishment but it is certainly my goal.  Sometimes those frustrations seem to come flying at me without the ability to do as much as take a breath, but the truth is, they allow me to show my colours, grow stronger, build my character and draw closer to God, who’s allowing things to happen in order do just that.  That’s the occasion I want to be rising to!  

We love Francesca Battistelli around here and her latest release is a favourite of the girls in this house.   Eden and I crank it up and bop around happily when it’s on.  It’s fairly fitting today, I think: 

This is the stuff that drives me crazy
This is the stuff that’s getting to me lately
In the middle of my little mess
I forget how big I’m blessed
This is the stuff that gets under my skin
But I gotta trust You know exactly what You’re doing
It might not be what I would choose
But this is the stuff You use
 
 
Rising to the occasion of life is definitely a Finer Thing.  Head on over and visit Amy for more Finer Things
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Penny
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 20:39:04

    I so could have wrote your post down to the the Francesca Battastelli song ( I recently posted that on my blog too)
    I know the legacy that I want to leave for my family, but the flesh sometimes gets the best of me.

    One of my favorite verses in the Bible is Lamentations 3:22 – 23
    Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed,
    for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.

    Everyday I can get up and try again…

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Eden Singin’ It (Battistelli-Style) « Joy and Contentment

Leave a Reply

