Recipe: Lazy Granola

A couple years ago, I was on a mission to reduce our cold cereal consumption to just one day a week.  We’ve succeeded for the most part, and I’m thrilled!  This is one of the reasons why.   

It’s ubereasy to make – throw it together right before bed and it’s ready in the morning. We all love it with yogurt and fresh fruit for breakfast, and it stores well in the pantry.   It also makes a great snack when you just grab a handful.  I’ve been making this for a couple years, so I don’t know who provided the original recipe…  but I’d like to give a shout-out to whoever did! 

1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup oil (I use Canola)
1/2 cup honey
1 tsp. cinnamon
2 tsp. vanilla
7 cups oats — I use a mix of 5 cups old fashioned and 2 cups spelt, and usually a bit of flax

1.Mix brown sugar, oil, and honey in a small saucepan. Bring to a low boil.
2.Remove from heat. Stir in cinnamon and vanilla.
3.Pour over oats in a large bowl. Stir until well coated.
4.Spread oats in a well greased 9×13 pan. Bake at 375° for 10 minutes.
5.Take out and stir.
6.Return pan to oven. Turn oven off.
7.Go to bed. Wake up to a delicious, cinnamon-y sent wafting through your kitchen!

You can also add pecans, almonds before baking, but our boys decided they don’t like nuts anymore, so we just stick with the oats and spelt for now.  😦     Maybe if I pulverised them in the food processor, I could sneak them in. 

A single batch will store in three 1L mason jars.   I need to start making triple batches as we go through it way too often to waste time on singles.

Enjoy!

This post has been linked to Tasty Tuesdays over at Beauty and Bedlam.  I encourage you to head on over and see what other bits of deliciousness you may want to test out.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 09:59:05

    I have just started making my own graola and I am hooked. It is just so much better than what you buy at the store. Our latest favorite… Peanut Butter Granola… YUM! You can find the recipe on my blog
    http://www.lovebeinginthekitchen.blogspot.com

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 14:18:24

    This looks so yummy! I love how easy it is. Definitely going to give it a try! Doing the happy granola dance!!

    Reply

    • joyandcontentment
      Feb 01, 2011 @ 14:40:39

      Oh yeah. This one had me at ‘easy’. The problem is that we run out of it so quickly, so I think I’ve inspired myself to make a big ole pile of it! lol Let me know how it goes…

      Reply

  3. Melanie Howard
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 16:52:34

    Oh, I love the “lazy” aspect of this granola! I used to make my own, but it was such a long process that I don’t do it anymore. Can’t wait to try this recipe out! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  4. Julie
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 21:57:28

    This looks so delicious and I love that it “cooks” while you sleep!

    Reply

  5. It's a Keeper
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 14:26:45

    HI! I’m hosting a link up this week — It’s a Keeper Thursdays! I hope you can come over and link up!

    Thanks!
    It’s a Keeper
    http://www.everydaytastes.com/
    http://twitter.com/itsakeeperblog
    http://www.facebook.com/ItsAKeeper

    Reply

Leave a Reply

