Progress Update: 52 Weeks of Organizing

Remember that little dresser in my sitting room?  It was filled with paper and odds and ends and it felt SO good to finally take care of it.  

Okay, so I said I’d report back last weekend — like a whole week ago.  Yeah, yeah.  I know.   I did do this way back on Monday.  Whatever.  It’s done so I don’t mind it being a tad late.  We have to be reasonable with our bits of progress. 

Here’s the before:

Just look at the top drawer!  It’s the catch-all.  I see a map, sunglasses, a mini flash light, makeup, hair clips, a tire gauge, pens, pencils, memory verse cards, business cards… a whole big bunch of randomness. 

But now it’s a thing of beauty. 

The top drawer continues to be a junk drawer.  It’s been cleaned out and sorted, but my thinking is that without a junk drawer, I’ll have junk counters and that’s way worse.  So, this will continue to be a catch-all of randomness.  I know they say that all things need a home, but hello…?  Where do you store your whistles?   Or the buttons that have been yanked off of your tufted ottoman?  Yes, I do really like having one go-to spot for all the little bits and pieces that we come across in the course of a day. 

The second and third drawers were all paper. 

There were colouring pages, origami paper and school work that didn’t make it into binders.  There were drawings and special notes to mom and dad.  I sorted through every one of them.  Only a few were kept for ‘archives’, a few others were photographed and the rest were recycled or put in the ‘scrap’ paper tray so we could use the other side. 

Now these drawers now serve to store some of our main craft supplies.  I previously had bins in the basement that I would pull up when needed, but having key materials on hand will make school prep and craft time way easier.  Some things are already in here (construction paper, glue gun, glue sticks, stickers, stencils) and as we pull more out of our basement bins it will be put back in here instead.  This will help us to pull out only what we use (sort of like that ‘turn the hanger’ trick for closets) and will keep the drawers to a reasonable amount of stuff.  The only thing I won’t keep here is paint, since that requires some preparation on my part before the kids break into it.  🙂 

On top of that cute little dresser, I also tore apart our front armoire.  Our home has no front closet, no storage closet, no linen closet, so I got this a couple years ago at a buy & sell place in town for about $200.  I do hope to paint it sometime as it just seems so dark at the end of the hallway.  I’m really digging the interior paint colour, though! 

It’s used for my outer gear and David’s, though you’d never know it from the way it looked before:

NOW look!  It’s thrilling to have bins at the bottom for our snowpants and heavy mitts.  Our big snow boots are down there too.  We have bins up top for hats, scarves and gloves and a little shelf space for our favourite gloves and a few other things we use every day. 

I also screwed two hooks on the left side for my purses.  One big catch-all purse and my running out the door across the shoulder little purse.  This is much better than the kitchen counter or in the puddle of melted snow by the back door!   Now I’m thinking a few key hooks on the inside of the door. 

I also did my coffee cupboard, thanks to Rachel Anne over at Home Sanctuary.  One of her small things this week was to tackle a shelf.  I did all four, plus one shelf in my pantry.  No before picture, but I’m digging the after: 

So far 2011 has seen me organize 3/52 items. 

1.  Sitting room dresser drawers

2.  Foyer armoire

3.  Coffee cupboard

Bit by bit, I’m getting there and it feels GREAT!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 19:45:34

    Wow…I am super impressed. I need to do…all of that. And more.

    Reply

  2. allysgrandma
    Jan 28, 2011 @ 19:47:23

    It does feel great. I have managed to maintain my areas I organized. Slowly but surely!

    Reply

  3. Carol
    Jan 28, 2011 @ 21:31:05

    Wow, you have been busy! Looks great!

    Reply

  4. Sandy Jenney - Organize with Sandy
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 01:46:51

    Wow.. that looks really good!! I have been working on the office this week and just did a drawer organizing post on Thursday. I’d love for you to link this up to my Organizing Mission Monday link party!
    I found you from I’m an Organizing Junkie.

    Reply

  5. Sandy Jenney - Organize with Sandy
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 11:28:38

    Thanks for stopping by! You have really been getting a lot organized in your house! Keep stopping back… I want to see what else you have been up to! lol

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Craft Time, Trina-style « Joy and Contentment

Leave a Reply

