Word Hunger/ World Hunger

I so appreciate a robust vocabulary.  One of the benefits of homeschooling my ability to hand pick literature that will assist in the development of my children’s vocabulary.   In my opinion, there is little point in reading things to potentially cause its deterioration.  You can read more of my thoughts on that here

I just found a great link on the Pioneer Woman site, provided in the homeschooling section.  It’s called FreeRice and it’s a little(big) vocabularly quiz site that donates 10 grains of rice to the World Food Program for each word you define correctly from a multiple choice selection.   (Apparently there are other quizzes too – like geography, but I have yet to play those ones.)  The site doesn’t require any signup or registration.  You just take the link and start playing!   

I fear it does have some addictive qualities, but the more you play, the more people you feed!  How great is that?  

Check it out and do your part.  Get your kids to play.  See who can feed the most people.  Is there any better prize than fighting world hunger?

Leave a Reply

