C is for Caleb

… and he’s 8 today.

He is the sweetest boy I’ve ever met,

and I’m not just saying that because I’m his mother.

If I had to choose one word to describe him, it would be ‘considerate.’

He always thinks about the other person first — a character trait which, in my opinion, is severely lacking in today’s society.  I try very hard to impart that quality in my other children, but it’s a toughie!   He’s the kid to offer his last bite of his favourite food to someone else, just because. 

He comes by frequently and just asks me what he can do to help.

And he’s so happy about it.

That’s Caleb. 

He’s quieter than my other children.  We could see at a very young age that he was going to be a pensive one, and he is.  He thinks about things… everything.   He really simmers in his thoughts.   His quiet nature makes it a bit more difficult for him to make friends, but in all honesty, he’d really rather just have one or two really good friends anyway.  

And he loves food.  I mean LOOVVES it.   He is the real menu planner of the house.  He browses the grocery flyers each week because he loves to think about what we’ll be making.   As a 3 year old, he’d say “Good morning Mom, what’s for supper tonight?”    Yeah, he’s all about the food.  He hopes to open a restuarant some day, and I can totally see it. 

Yes, this boy of mine is pretty special. 

Caleb, we love you and we’re pleased to see you growing with a such a big heart of servitude, and a deep love of God. 

May He continue to bless you, just as he has blessed us by bringing you into our family.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 10:08:35

    Happy Birthday, Caleb! Great post and great pic. I hope everyone, especially Caleb, has a wonderful day today.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

