Teaching Faith and Works

To kick off our homeschooling day, the boys and I start in the Word.  One boy reads aloud from one of his devotionals.   Many times, they like to look up the scripture references in their bibles.  We sometimes re-read it again in other translations, to understand the richness of what’s being said.  And of course, we talk about it.  It doesn’t need to take a lot of time, but I find that the days we don’t start this way are the days that unravel very quickly.   I know many of you know what I’m talking about here… 

One day a few months ago, our usual devotion, bible reading and prayer time turned into almost 2 hours of discussion on the subject of faith.  The boys were excited to talk about it, look for examples and gain a deeper understanding of it.  I wasn’t about to cut them short on their natural tendency to dig deeper, in order to move on to math. 

Nosireebob.  

Instead, we went with it.  I used a CD and a tv remote to demonstrate what I thought was a great way to depict faith.  I don’t know how the CD works, I just know it does.  I don’t understand how the remote works, but I know that when I aim it towards the television and push the power button, it will turn on.  It’s not my job to understand  it.  I just know it works

Of course, it all comes down to walking the walk.  Putting faith into action is really where the rubber really hits the road.    One can be faced with a trial and say ‘I have faith that it will be okay,’ and that’s great.  But until that person starts to live as though it really will be okay (prayerfully quitting that miserable job, giving more money than they think they can in the offering plate, befriending an otherwise questionable person, speaking up when your brain tells you not to, doing the ‘tough stuff”) they are merely words.   You can say and even believe that the remote will work the tv, but it’s only when you push the buttons to actually do it that you actually put faith to the test. 

In our discussion that day, the kids recognized Abraham as a great example of faith in the sacrificial offering of Isaac.  Same with Noah.  He didn’t understand the ark, he just had faith that God had a purpose.  

We read and re-read Hebrews 11:1, and the kids wrote it out on the white board.

I asked them to come up with a way of remembering it and they decided not only to put it to a song, but to a song we love!   I was amazed by how they pulled it together in just a minute or two!   We hear this song on the radio, we hear it in church and now we hear it in our own little home classroom. 

Music is an amazing memorization tool.   The kids can still easily recite Hebrews 11:1.  It makes me want to put all kinds of key scripture to song… 

Here’s my gang, sharing their little diddy:

If that’s not a Finer Thing, I don’t know what is.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherry
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 10:22:44

    How cool that they put the verse to song! 😀 They did a great job! IT is definitely an easier way to memorize it and have it kept in your head! 😀

    Have a great weekend!
    Sherry

    Reply

  2. joyandcontentment
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 10:59:03

    Thanks Sherry! You have a great weekend too! (Mine includes the annual homeschooler conference for Nova Scotia, so what’s not to love??)
    ~ T.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

