JOY Reminder from a Ten Year Old

For the first time in a long time, the boys did their own devotions and prayers this morning.  I stood in the doorway and spied on them, like the good mother I am.  :o)   This is what I heard:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank you for this day. 

I don’t know your plans for it,

but whether it’s rainy or sunny, I will be happy.

In Jesus’ name,

Amen

Joy.

Even though I strive for it, there are many days I don’t acheive it and some where I don’t even come close. 

There are days that feel like everything is falling down around me.  I lose my cool repeatedly and would like to just push fast forward on the day and skip right to bedtime when there is calm and quiet and a few minutes to do whatever I want to do.  

And then there are days when I hear my child utter words to his Creator, and in so doing, he reminds me very simply, what it’s all about.  I need to see the joy whether there’s sun or rain, because that’s when I’m drawn closer. 

I can’t help but think of Bring the Rain, by MercyMe.   Even though my day today is merely a light sunshower, its words are a good reminder to seek the joy in the downpours too. 

Bring me joy, bring me peace, bring the chance to be free,

Bring me anything that brings you glory.

And I know there’ll be days, when this life brings me pain

But if that’s what it takes to praise You, Jesus bring the rain.

 

May you seek joy in your day too. 

Leave a Reply

