Recipe: Cinnamon Rolls

I have a confession to make.   Until this morning, I had never made cinnamon rolls.  Ever. 

I know.  It surprises me too.  

I’ve made all kinds of other rolled up delight, but there’s just been something about all that butter and sugar that’s held me back.  Then we had some at church on Sunday and I haven’t been able to stop thinking about them.  It’s a bread product, so it really only makes sense that it has occupied a large proportion of my consciousness these last couple days. 

Today was the day.   The verdict?  Pretty darn tasty.  The kids were thrilled to have the sugar.   It was rounded out with some apple slices, grapes and banana chunks.  Yumba. 

I have several cinnamon roll recipes, including the beautiful one in my Pioneer Woman cookbook, but this one seemed the easiest to throw together in the am (no yeast), so it won out with a couple modifications.  (It’s from our church family cookbook — over 340 tried and adored recipes.  This one is the recipe of my girlfriend’s father, so I’ve had it before via her own hands…) 

Warren’s Cinnamon Rolls

2 cups flour

2 Tbsp sugar (I used cane)

4 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/4 cup cold butter, cubed

1 cup cold milk

1/3 cup softened butter

3/4 cup brown sugar (the recipe called for 1 cup, I used 3/4 but could easily use less)

a good sprinkle of cinnamon

1)  In a bowl, mix together first 4 ingredients and cut in cold butter until crumbly.

2)  Make a well in center and pour in cold milk.  Stir to form a soft dough.

3)  Turn onto lightly floured surface and knead until smooth.

4)  Roll out into a rectangle about 12″ to 14″  long and 1/2″ to 3/4″ thick.

5)  Combine soft butter and brown sugar and spread onto dough.  Sprinkle with cinnamon.

6)  Roll dough by starting with the long side.  Cut into 12 slices. 

7)  Place into greased muffin tins.  (I did mine in a 9×12 pan just because I can’t stand washing my muffin tin if I don’t have to.) 

8)  Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes, until slightly golden. 

I served them upside down on the plate because the bottom was more shiny and delicious-looking.  The kitchen was filled with oohs and ahhs;  a huge hit!    My husband even whipped out his blackberry to take a photo.  I found out later that he had posted it on facebook.  I guess it really was a hit!

But now I’m eager to experiment.   These ones aren’t quite as unhealthy as some, but I’m curious to find some options that make me feel less guilty.  If I add kamut and ground flax, and maybe apple slices instead of quite so much sugar, do you think the kids will still want to eat them?

Maybe it will just mean more for me. 

Be sure to swing by Jen’s blog for more  Tasty Tuesday ideas.    While you’re at it, hop on over to Tempt my Tummy Tuesdays too.

(Hey – maybe someone else will post a healthier cinnamon roll.)

Leave a Reply

