25 Random Thoughts About Me

Hi again! 
 
My blog-free week was hugely successful.  It was hard for me not to hop around blog-land to see what was going on, but I resisted!   I did swing by the blogs of my real-life girlfriends, but that doesn’t count…   😮 
 
In the end, my self-imposed restriction was highly motivating.  I missed you guys and couldn’t wait to finish my taxes ! 
 
 
Now I’m back at it and quite behind in lots of other things (as a result of that dreaded paperwork).  So in the interest of getting to know eachother, I thought I’d share this with you.  It was written a year or two ago and because nothing has changed, I’m posting it as-is.   I really didn’t find it hard to write, and could probably go on to list another 25 things…  but not today.

_____________________

1. People say I’m creative. I’m an ideas person. This is why I’m great at starting things and horrible at the follow-through. (Case in point, I started this list over a week ago!)

2. I loathe forms, applications, anything that requires me to fill in the blanks… paperwork of any sort actually. It’s amazing my kids got birth certificates.  (April 2010 addendum:  My taxes are DONE and just awaiting input from my accountant.   Yay for me!)

3. However… I am a compulsive list maker. I make them, sometimes the same ones over and over again, so I can experience the satisfaction of checking things off. (I only made this list once, even though it took me a while.) :S

4. I homeschool my kids because I see so many advantages to it. All the disadvantages have to do with me having less time to do other things I want to do – but so far, it’s a sacrifice I’m prepared to make.

5. I simply adore my husband and I LOVE the way he loves me. Putting him before the kids is really best for our whole family… You can’t build a house on sand.

6. I can’t even look at a picture of a snake, but can pick up spiders or bait a hook without issue.

7. I am frustrated by the level of unnecessary medical intervention that exists today and think that Naturopaths and Midwives are immensely underrated.

8. I don’t care a whole heck of a lot about what other people think of me. Some people find that off-putting. I find it freeing.

9. I love music – all kinds of it (okay, not polka and not speed-metal) and would like to learn piano and guitar someday.

10. I cry at almost anything. A good song, any wedding (fiction or not), a sweet commercial, a golden sunset, a beautiful hymn. Christmas carols put me right over the edge.

11. I try very hard not to over-schedule my kids. I believe they learn, grow and enjoy more when they can just… BE.

12. I used to be more organized and aspire to be organized again… someday. I can’t visit a department store without checking out the latest selection of containers/ baskets/ bins/ sorting/ organization tools in anticipation of this eventual goal.

13. Many moons ago, I loved the New Kids. I’m okay with that. Twenty years later, and now that they’ve resurfaced, I still think Donnie’s the best one.

14. I can’t stand poor table manners, and feel like I’m constantly telling my kids to chew with their mouths closed.

15. I love to get creative in the kitchen, esp. when D and I are cooking in there together with a great bottle of wine. I really appreciate food.

16. I think people who put themselves before others have got it all back-asswards and are missing out on the biggest joys in life. That’s sad.

17. I look forward to retirement so I can spend even more time with D (hopefully sailing and enjoying a dilapidated old farmhouse in the South of France). 

18. I long to live like Western Europeans: Enjoy life. Eat well. Don’t work too hard. Take naps. Celebrate life with a good wine. Slow down. Sigh… this is why we want to spend our retirement there.

19. I have always challenged the status quo because I think God gave us brains and instinct for a reason.

20. I love to camp and want to do more of it now that I’m home with the kids.

21. Mia Farrow is my hero. If I had the resources she did, I’d have a gaggle of kids too! We’ll settle for a half-gaggle instead.

22. I’m fine with my children being a lot of things, but disrespectful is not one of them.

23. My entire childhood and much in to my teens, I wanted to become a writer. After that, I daydreamed about becoming a midwife. But then after G was born, I realized I’d just be an emotional wreck and of absolutely no help to my clients.

24. I have a lot of tools – power tools, hand tools and belt to match. I love home fix-it projects, even though I’m not particularly good at them. When our budget can afford it, I like to hire someone to do the work with me, so I can do parts of the job, stay on top of them to make sure it’s done to my satisfaction, while learning something at the same time.

25. I have an unshakeable work ethic, which is sometimes a good thing – many times not. I always bite off more than I can chew (there’s that “ideas person” again).

And the bonus number, 26: I am grateful to God for all the blessings in my life… and not afraid to say it out loud.

Leave a Reply

