Recipe: Baked Oatmeal

 

Lastnight we had ever-versatile quiche for supper and G commented that he loved it so much, he’d like it for breakfast on his birthday…  11 months from now.  C told me he wanted waffles and E requested our favourite oatmeal for her birthday in July.   They say it as though I never make these things, even though I make them all — every week!  :o)

This morning, E came down the stairs and asked me about the yummy smell.   I told her that oatmeal was in the oven.

Her reply?  “It’s my BIRTHDAY?” 

🙂

We so enjoy this recipe here at Casa del Whacko.  It’s healthy and filling and tasty.  The kids ask for it more often than they get it (which is usually about once a week), so I might actually rotate this one in a bit more frequently.  As local and seasonal fruits become more readily available over the next few months, it will be fun to change the recipe up a bit with fresh toppings.

I always keep jars of the dry mix in the pantry so I don’t have the ‘it’s too much work excuse’ when I know I really should be giving the family healthy, wholesome breakfasts.  The jars are a huge sanity saver for me.   I prepare them based on single batches, and just grab two for a double batch. 

Recipe:  Baked Oatmeal

In the jars:

2 cups large flake oats (not the quick cooking kind)

1 cup spelt (the flakes not the flour – or you can make this another cup of oats instead)

1/4 cup sugar (or less)

2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp cinnamon

3/4 tsp salt

1-2 tsp ground flax

When ready to make, combine wet ingredients in a bowl:

2 eggs, beaten

1/2 cup applesauce

1/2 cup vanilla yogurt (or plain will work too)

1/2 cup milk

1/4 cup oil (I’ve increased the applesauce a bit, and decreased the oil to about 1/8 cup without issue)

Mix in dry ingredients and pour into greased casserole dish.  When making a single batch, I always use a 1.8L Corning dish with a lid and that works very well.

When time allows (and definitely if it’s someone’s birthday), I peel and dice 2 apples, toss with a few Tbsp of maple syrup and some cinnamon, and spread over top of the oat mixture. 

Now here’s the beauty of this one:   You have two options on when to prepare this.  You can:

a) put it in the fridge overnight and pop it in the oven in the morning (45-50 mins. @ 350); or

b) mix it up in the morning and bake it then (about 40 mins. @ 350)

If it doesn’t have the baked apple on top, serve it up plain or with some other fresh fruit on top (strawberries and bananas are a fave).

Confession:  I threw mine together this morning (I was working lastnight) and in the morning chaos, I forgot to add milk to the wet ingredients!  Funny thing is, it didn’t really matter.  It was a bit more cake-like than it is with the milk, but the kids loved it just the same.   Best of all, C commented:  “It tastes great AND you saved a bit more money!”   Gotta love that!

This recipe has been linked to Tasty Tuesdays and Tempt My Tummy Tuesdays.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. SnoWhite
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 08:50:42

    I’m eating baked oatmeal right now 🙂 Our recipes are fairly similar (although I’ll have to try it with the flax and spelt!). I make ours with all applesauce and it works well. And, we only use 1 tsp. of vanilla.

    Reply

  2. Living Simply
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 09:20:48

    Yum… I’m gonna have to try this… My hubby loves baked oatmeal with the apples. And you’ve made it simple to prepare. I love making things the night before to pop in the over first thing.

    I’m here from Tasty Tuesday. Have a great day!!

    Reply

  3. joyandcontentment
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 09:45:26

    Can I possibly say “great” any more?

    Reply

  4. SnoWhite
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 10:17:56

    Thanks for visiting!!

    I often freeze ham — I haven’t frozen the lasagna dish, but I do stick leftover ham in the freezer. I wouldn’t eat slices of it for a meal after that point (texture is a bit different after freezing), but it works wonderfully in casseroles and soups.

    Reply

  5. Katie
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 11:49:19

    Ooo…. sounds delicious. Next time we have people in from out of town, I’ll make this. It’s probably too much for just the two of us. 🙂

    Reply

    • joyandcontentment
      Apr 06, 2010 @ 12:04:45

      Katie, to give you an idea of yield, it makes 4 really good sized portions. It’s barely enough for 2 adults and 3 kids. I often double the recipe (the kids always want more) and just reheat the leftovers a couple days later – still delish. Also, this recipe is quite cake like – I break it up with a spoon in the bowl before adding milk. If you want it a bit less so, you can try increasing the yogurt/ applesauce quantities. We like it as is, but it was definitely a bit different at first. It’s really not like the goopy oatmeal I ate growing up.

      Reply

  6. Melinda
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 17:01:39

    We love baked oatmeal – but I never thought to mix it up the night before! What a time saver! Thanks!

    Reply

  7. Brenda
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 19:32:28

    This looks like a healthier version of what I usually make

    Reply

  8. Mallory
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 21:19:54

    I can’t wait to try this!!! However, does it really need 1/2 a CUP of vanilla? I love vanilla, but that much would be expensive! Also, do you think it would work to use honey or maple syrup instead of sugar?

    Thanks!

    Reply

  9. Lisa@Blessedwithgrace
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 10:26:04

    The baked oatmeal look really great! Thanks for sharing your recipe and linking to Tempt My Tummy Tuesday.

    Reply

  10. Trackback: What School Looks Like Today « Joy and Contentment

Leave a Reply

