Recipe: Whole Wheat Waffles

 

I had a waffle iron many moons ago.  It was a hand-me-down from my mother-in-law and I’m fairly certain that it originally belonged to her mother.  I used it once or twice and then it met its’ demise.   It didn’t cook well, the waffles were too small and too thin, and it was a nightmare to clean.  I don’t remember what I did with it, I only know that I haven’t seen it since.

Fast forward a dozen or so years, and here I am with a waffle iron that I LOVE.  It came as the result of a request for ‘Sentimental’s’ 7th birthday.  He wanted waffles for breakfast and there was just no way I was going to buy the frozen doodads.  I decided a waffle iron would be his birthday gift.  I spent about $30 and it really has been the gift that keeps on giving. 

We have used it almost weekly since then.  The waffles are extremely tasty, inexpensive and quite easy to make.  I prepare several batches of mix at once store them in my pantry right next to the jars of lazy granola and baked oatmeal mix (I’ll post those later).  I once used ziploc bags for storage, but then I wised up and started reusing  jars from tomato sauce.  I love having it in the pantry and ready to go.  Handy dandy. 

I timed myself when I made them yesterday.  The first waffle was in the iron before the 4 minute mark.  Of course, it does take time to cook them, and they do go only one at a time, but they are well worth the wait.  And the reality is that I’m in the kitchen doing other things anyway, so it really isn’t a big deal to remove a waffle and start another one every few minutes. 

Whole Wheat Waffles

(makes 5 large round waffles)

1 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 tsp sugar

4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 Tbsp ground flax

2 tsp cinnamon

(I sometimes use more whole wheat flour and less unbleached, but this seems to be the favoured ratio.)

2 eggs

1 3/4 cups milk

1/3 cup oil

1 tsp vanilla

– For faster future prep, mix first 7 ingredients in a bowl and move to a jar. 

– Beat 2 eggs in a bowl.

– Add dry mix.

– Add milk, oil and vanilla and mix. 

– Use a silicone brush to add oil to waffle iron.  Pour onto hot iron and cook until golden brown.  As an added bonus, your house will smell a-MAZ-ing! 

– Top with maple syrup or whipping cream and fruit and watch your kids fight over who gets the first one.   (We usually end up serving them based on whose week it is.) 

This post has been linked to Tempt My Tummy Tuesdays and Tasty Tuesdays.  Be sure to stop by both blogs for more yummy recipes.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alison @ Hospitality Haven
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 16:53:45

    Thanks for this recipe!! We just bought a waffle maker last week, and although we have a really tasty Belgian waffle recipe that we LOVE, we need to eat some “healthier” waffles now and again as well. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jen @ Little Bit This n That
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 17:04:21

    I’m more of a pancake girl myself. But with those raspberries and cream, you are speaking my language!! They look great!

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 19:37:18

    What a COINCIDENCE! We just had waffles today that were HORR-I-BLE. Too dry. Too cold. Taste similar to sawdust.

    We ate most of them just as carriers of syrup. Big portions went to the dogs.

    John has our pantry stocked with stuff in Mason jars (a birthday gift in honor of chef Michael Smith) and will love an excuse to use another.

    THANKS

    Reply

Leave a Reply

