Recipe: ‘Mama’gatawny Soup

Winter is winding down here in Nova Scotia, Canada.  We’ve had about 10 or 11 degrees (that’s about 50 F)  these last few days and the glorious sun is shining brightly!   Spring is definitely coming!  In the fall, I always get excited about ramping up my soups for the cooler season.  At this time of year, I feel the need to kick it up again before parking the soup recipes during the warmer temps.

Our family favourite is this one.  It is amazing!  My kids request it year round.  Soup.  In the summer.  Yes, it’s that good.

I found the original recipe on line a couple years ago, but I’ve changed it so much that I have taken the liberty of calling it my own now.  Can I do that?  Well… I’m doing it.

Yes, it’s called MULLIgatawny, but the kids renamed it MAMAgatawny the first time they had it, they say – in honour of me.  So cute.   (blush)

It’s DEEEElicious, filling and easy to make because you don’t need to cook the chicken first. I love that shortcut because so many recipes call for cooked chicken.   I frequently keep cooked chicken in the freezer so it can be made with that.  This time, I’ve made it from the leftovers of a whole chicken.  I toss the bones and chicken pieces in the crock pot with water overnight, strip the bones the next morning, cool it to easily separate the fat and add to it from there.

I tend to make big batches of everything, just because it saves so much time in the long run. This recipe makes about 28 to 30 ladles of soup.  That’s enough for us to have two full meals and then some leftovers for lunch. It freezes well, but the texture isn’t quite as good the second time around because the rice basically dissolves.   I try to always have some in my freezer for an easy supper.

I’ve made it so often that it has become one of those recipes that you just throw together without measuring anything, but I would approximate the following for the purposes of having a starting point.  With homemade rolls or biscuits, I can’t really think of much I’d rather have on a cold winter cool early spring day.

Trina’s ‘Mama’gatawny Soup

1 – 2 onions
4-5 stalks celery, chopped
4-5 carrots, diced
2-3 Tbsp butter
4 Tbsp flour
3 tsp curry powder (sometimes I up it to 5 for more zing!)
3 cartons chicken broth (organic is my favourite or use homemade)
1 – 2 cups water
2 small apples, peeled and chopped
1 cup basmati rice
1 tsp dried thyme
1 tsp salt
2-3 potatoes (or more if I’m feeling rather potatoey ~ I love potatoes and curry!)
4-5 chicken breasts, raw but cut into 1″ pieces (cooked chicken works too)
1 – 2 cups 1% milk

-Melt butter in a large pot. Saute onions. Add carrot and celery.
-Mix flour, curry powder and thyme in a small bowl, add whisk in with sauteed vegetables and cook a few minutes longer.
-Add chicken broth and mix well. Bring to a boil and simmer about 20 minutes.  (If I’m working with chunky homemade crock pot broth, I just add a few cups of it and some water then add to the rest of the mixture later.)
-Add apple, potatoes and chicken. Mix rice, thyme and salt in a small bowl then add to mixture.
-Simmer 15-20 minutes. Add milk and simmer a few more minutes.

You’ll be scraping the bowl. I’m not kidding.

Visit Tempt My Tummy Tuesdays for more great recipes.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 10:20:07

    Ooohhhh. I LOVE this soup. I may have to put it on my menu soon:)

    Reply

  2. Upstatemomof3
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 23:11:58

    I love soup in the winter!! We will have to give this one a try. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

