Recipe: Our Favourite Thincrust Pizza

 Today’s Ultimate Recipe Swap features uses for flour.  And people who know me well know that I use a lot of it – bread, pizza, muffins, cookies, cakes.  I love me some carbs. 

I don’t know where I got this recipe, but it’s written out on blue paper and taped to the inside door of my baking supplies cupboard and above my lovely-and-long-coveted-stroke-of-genius-Cuisinart-stand-mixer.  This is the same spot where all my favourite and oft made baking recipes reside.    It saves having to pull down my recipe binder and keeps them all nicely around eye level.   Obviously, you don’t need a mixer for this recipe, a bowl and spoon and some hand kneading will do just fine too.  It’s how I did it for years before I got that lovely-and-long-coveted-stroke-of-genius-Cuisinart-stand-mixer I mentioned.

In the bowl of the stand mixer, put:

1 cup warm water

a small dollop of honey 

2 1/4 tsp of yeast (1 packet)

Set a 10 minute timer.   Then add:

1/4 tsp salt

a bit of grape seed or olive oil (about a couple tsp.)

1 1/2 cups of unbleached flour

1 cup of other flour (I sometimes use spelt, sometimes multigrain for the crunch but the kids like whole wheat the best)

If you wish to add any herbs or seasonings to the dough, now is the time.  I sometimes do rosemary, sometimes basil and oregano, sometimes garlic powder, sometimes nothing depending on my plan for toppings.  Let your family vote.  The experimenting is fun.   Between the herbs and the toppings, I find that pizza is rarely the same twice, so keep note of which are the favourite combos. 

Mix at a speed of 4 or 5 and mix/ knead (with the dough hook) for 6-8 minutes.  My lovely and long coveted Cuisinart has a timer so the mixing is easy peasy.   Depending on the flour you use, you may require a bit more mixing. 

When it forms a ball of dough, remove it briefly, add a splash of oil and coat sides of bowl.  Replace dough and cover with a damp tea towel.  Set timer for 25 minutes and come back to a lovely mound of pizza crust.   Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

I use stonewear because I just love how it bakes.   Plus, it keeps the pizza warmer between the first and second servings.  I use the Pampered Chef Pizza Round and one Bar Pan for this recipe (the resulting square slices are easier for little hands).  I rub a bit of oil on the pans, sprinkle on a bit of cornmeal, and roll the dough out directly onto the pans.  This is really only made possible with the little Pampered Chef handheld roller thingy.  I don’t know what it’s called but it gets a lot of use in my kitchen and is great for the bar pans because they have an edge on them.   (No, I don’t sell Pampered Chef, but I really love their kitchen tools.)

I like to pre-bake my pizza crust slightly, before adding the toppings.   I find that 10 minutes is usually good.

Add whatever toppings you like and bake another 15 to 20 minutes.   If your toppings are particularly wet, you may want to bake another 5 minutes.  We find that this crust has the perfect mix of tastiness and a slight crunch.  It was a number of experimental years (and to be perfectly honest, a lot of pizza crust avoidance) before I got it right with this recipe. 

Freezing note:  Apparently the crust freezes well if rubbed with oil first and put in a bag.  I have grand intentions of making a giant batch and freezing, but haven’t tried it yet…    I have pizza on my menu for Friday, so perhaps I’ll test it out then. 

Add an leafy salad and dinner is served! 

LifeAsMom  is practically a daily stop for me with my coffee each morning.  Swing by and visit Jessica there to find a pile of other great recipes.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Arlene
    Mar 07, 2010 @ 16:17:25

    This is very similar to the recipe I use; it was a few years and lots of different crust recipes for me, too, before I finally decided to quit trying other ones and just stick with what works! Any time I make it for company, I’m asked for the recipe, so it must be a really good one. :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

