Recipe: Chicken (or Turkey) Pot Pie

This is one of the most frequently requested meals in my house, but I use homemade crust which makes it a bit more work to make.  Because of this, I only every do it when I have enough “planned extras” to make at least 2 at a time.  It’s a great way to use up turkey or chicken leftovers.

Lastnight, I took some homemade pastry out of the freezer to thaw.  (I’ll share that recipe soon, it’s a good one!)  I’ve also taken out a bag of cooked chicken, so it will be very easy to prepare.  I’ll serve it up with some spinach salad and yogurt dill dressing. 

I don’t remember where the original recipe came from, but it’s been modified over the years to this version. 

Frugal Note: You can also easily stretch your crusts a bit further and use one only for the top.  I do this when I’m freezing them, to keep from having a soggy bottom. 

Chicken (or Turkey) Pot Pie 

(Makes 2 pies)

3-4 cups of chicken pieces

2 cups chopped carrots

1 cup chopped celery

3-4 potatoes

2 cups frozen peas

1/3 cup butter 

1 small onion 

4 cloves garlic

3/4 cup flour 

1/2 to 1 tsp poutry seasoning

1/2 tsp celery salt

salt to taste

3 1/2 cups chicken broth

2/3 cup milk

2 to 4 unbaked pie crusts (4 if you’re doing top and bottom crusts, 2 if tops only)

In a saucepan, combine carrots, celery, potatoes, peas.  Add enough water to cover and boil for 15 min or until just cooked (don’t over cook).  Remove from heat, drain.  Rinse in cold water to prevent veggies from over-cooking. 

(Note: If you don’t have leftover chicken that is already cooked, you can add raw chicken to the water and cook with the vegetables, though I try to use chicken already cooked… it just tastes better.)

In a saucepan over medium heat, melt butter and saute onions and garlic.  When translucent, whisk in flour, salt, and seasonings to make a roux.  Slowly whisk in chicken broth and milk.  Simmer over medium-low heat until thick.  Add vegetables and cooked chicken to sauce and add more salt and seasonings as needed.  I think I make mine a bit different each time – sometimes more sage, sometimes more garlic. 

Pour into bottom crust if you’re using one (I like to pre-bake the bottom crust for a few minutes first), cover with top crust, pinch sides closed and add an X in the center for steam. Bake at 425 for approx. 35 mins.

For freezing:  Freeze before baking.  Apply top crust, pinch and add vent as usual.  When mixture is cool, add saran wrap tightly and then tin foil over top to prevent freezer burn.  To cook, uncover the pie, set oven to 375 and put the pot pie in the oven, so it warms a bit more gradulaly during the preheat.  (It’s never happened to me, but I always wonder about pie plates exploding).  Bake for about 1 hour after the oven hits 375.  If it hasn’t browned up, just broil for a few minutes at the end so it’s nice and golden.

Be sure to pop over to Tempt My Tummy Tuesday  for more yummy recipes.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 09:17:32

    I may try this one with some of the turkey I have. Similiar to mine…but just a bit different. They look purrtee.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

