Living by Osmosis

This morning we had French Toast.  I’m on a mission to reduce the amount of cereal we eat, because let’s face it, it’s all filled with garbage anyhow.  So today, was French Toast day.  But I digress.  The point is that three happy children sat perched at the island.

As the kids were finishing up, I started loading the dishwasher and my 3 year old daughter, we’ll call her ‘Sunshine’ asks me:

“Mom, how do you say ‘I’ in French?”

“Do you mean ‘I’ as in ‘I love you?’ or ‘eye’ as in ‘this is my eye?'”

“This one,” she said, pointing to her face. 

“For eyes, you would say ‘les yeux.'”

“Les yeux,” repeated Sunshine. 

“Great job!”

The she asks, “How do you say ‘Praise You,’ Mom?”   No joke.  The girl is three. 

“Um… I don’t know,” I replied, “but it’s great that you want to Praise God in another language!”

I just had to write this one down.  There is something amazing about the adoration of a small child for a God she doesn’t reallly yet understand.  It is proof of the reality that our children DO live by osmosis.  They learn from us.  They aspire to be like us in many ways.  Garbage in, garbage out.  Praise and love in, praise and love out. 

It’s a great lesson for me today.  Lastnight, ‘D’ and I read together from a book I’m reading and we talked about some of our family issues.  Specifically, we talked about our difficulties with our oldest, ‘Creative.’  He has always been extremely spirited, and it’s a little too easy for us to lose our cool with him.  We discussed how we both need to be less reactive at times.  We constantly remind our kids to speak kindly and respectfully, but there are times when, let’s face it, we’re not being kind and respectful oursleves.  There are times I just feel down right rotten about the way I’ve reacted to his defiance or disrespect or selfishness. 

Today is the first day of the week.  It’s also the first day of February.  We decided we’d work extra hard on this part of our lives.  I prayed about it.   We were going to start being extremely careful about our reactions, knowing that we would probably see evidence of fewer reactions from the kids as well. 

And today my girl wants to know how to say ‘Praise You’ in French. 

Praise and Love in, Praise and Love out.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

