Day 3: The Receiving End of Intention

Last night was Date Night. 

It’s a weekly thing for me and David; a special time to eat great food, enjoy some fantastic conversation and a glass or two of wine.  The biggest plus is that it’s just the two of us.

One of the things that makes Date Night particularly special, is that most of the time, David makes a beautiful meal for us to share.  Last night was Salsa Night:  homemade salsa and chips as an appetizer, fresh tuna steaks on a bed of spinach with yummy mango salsa for the main, fruit salsa and cinnamon chips for dessert.  It was fabulous! 

We even tried about 5 seconds of salsa dancing.  It wasn’t pretty so we stopped.   It’s good to know your limits.

However, the best thing about our evening was David’s comment to me after we had enjoyed our beautiful fish.   Were it not for interrupting date night, I would have jumped up and recorded it verbatim, but his words went something like this: 

“I love you and so I enjoy pouring my love into the food, because I know you enjoy it so much.  Food is just another way I can express my love to you.  We might enjoy a frozen lasagna just as much.  It serves the same purpose of filling us, and we can still share it just the two of us, but it doesn’t do anything to really express how much I love you.” 

(Melt…)

After his comment, when my heart returned to its regular pace,  it came to me.   

Day 3:

Being on the receiving end of intention feels so wonderful, and makes me feel so well-loved, that I want to be the giver of more intention, so those special to me might feel the same way.   

 And for what it’s worth, that gorgeous tuna was way better than any lasagna, frozen or otherwise.

This post has been linked to the 31 DAYS series.  You can start from the beginning here, and check out the other 31 Dayers by visiting The Nester.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 10:24:56

    Beautiful!!!! Love this!

    I blog at ‘Only A Breath’, and I’d love for you to stop by when you have time. I’m writing about “31 Days to Love Your Neighbor”. :)
    Have a great day!
    Melanie :)

    Reply

    • joyandcontentment
      Oct 03, 2011 @ 12:11:23

      Thanks Melanie! I noticed your button in the list and thought it was such a great topic. I’ll be sure to stop by. (This 31 Days thing has produced a lot of desired reading. Good thing they are permalinks and I can go back and read them all over the next several months!!) Have a great week!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

