Lovely Links: Burying the Big Yellow Schoolbus

Most mornings, I get a 20 (ish) minute ‘recess’ from teaching.  This is a good example of what our sitting room looks like during the break.  Neat and tidy as you can see!   

I might use the time to switch loads of laundry, make bread, prep supper, or, like today, wrap up a blog post.  If I’m really lucky, I’ll jump in the shower.  

Although it’s messy and busy and sometimes difficult, homeschooling makes great big gobs of sense to me in my head. 

For a whole host of reasons, I believe homeschooling is the right thing for our family.  It’s obvious to me that my kids are thriving academically and socially.  I can see wonderful development in their characters and in our relationships.   I can see they (mostly) enjoy learning.  I believe entirely that this is where they are supposed to be. 

That is, I believe it ‘entirely’ except for that teensy tiny part of me that doesn’t.

There is this occasional little irritation in the back corner of my brain that just… nags at me.  It may be a seed planted from a less-than-supportive family member.  It may be the sideways glances from someone at the grocery store wondering what kind of crazy woman would have three kids shopping with her at 1:00 on a Friday.  Somtimes (mostly, actually) it comes from the exhaustion of dealing with children all day… by choice.  Really?  I did this by choice

Yes, there are days as I putter around at recess, when I spend the time wondering just what in the WORLD I am doing!   Sometimes it’s the internal commentary that screams “but what about me?”   (I guess that comes mostly on the days I don’t get to the shower.)  Other times it’s wondering if my kids might be missing out on something by not going to school.    

Whatever it is, this ‘what am I doing’ question comes to me every once in a while.    And when it does, panic slightly, wondering if they will be on track if/ when they head to that big brick building over there.   And every. time. this. happens, I pray and I’m immediately comforted by one thing or another.  Last week, it came in the form of some wonderful comments from random people (‘my, what bright children you have!’), but also from a wonderful blog post. 

I’ve been getting to know Sarah via her blog, Small World.  (She has given me a new hope with our creative writing difficulties which I will be writing about in a future post).   On a recent morning, I was delighted to see Sarah had written on another of my very favourite homeschooling blogs, Simple Homeschool (Tsh of Simple Living Media also has Simple Mom, Simple Organic, etc… so check them out!)  Anyhow, I’ve been thinking about Sarah’s words of encouragement and wanted to share them with you for the homeschoolers out there who may have missed her original post. 

 Head on over here to see what I’m talking about.  

And thank you, Sarah.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah at SmallWorld Reads
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 22:36:02

    Thank you for your kind words! I’m glad I took some time to read blogs this evening!

    Reply

  2. joyandcontentment
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 07:48:36

    Well, I just think your words will be a huge encouragement to every homeschooler who wonders from time to time… Enjoy the rest of your week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

