Find your Drummer

I’m not a cookie-cutter type of person.  I kinda groove out to the beat of my own bodhran drummer and I am more than good with that.  I make choices based on what I think work for me or my family and that’s the way it is.  Some people may not like it, but I’m good with that too.  It is my drummer, after all. 

My mother would most definitely say that this has always been my approach.  In grade 3, my teacher called my mom to discuss his concern over the things he was reading in my journal.  Things like “Praise the Lord” and “Jesus Loves Me.”  He was concerned about my standing out from the other kids, and not in a good way.   WhatEVer!  He obviously didn’t know that I didn’t really care what the others thought.

When we were expecting our first child about 11 years ago, I had a midwife.  At that time, it was a certain rarity.  My VP of Sales asked me (in front of 50 other people), “How could you be SOOOo irresponsible and risk your baby’s life like that?”   I am sure I saw red, but all it his comment accomplished was that it gave me even more resolve. 

Then a water birth?  Cloth diapers?  And a decision not to vaccinate? And… gasp… HOMEschooling?   We were certainly ‘ruining’ our kids.   Oh yeah, we were a special kind of crazy.

But all along, we made those choices with a whole big bunch of prayer and thought.  They were very big life-altering choices that required their due consideration, and that’s what we gave them.  We have no regrets over the decisions we made.  

My point is:  do what you think is right, especially where your family is concerned.  Make choices because you truly believe in them.  Challenge the status quo, rather than doing things just because it’s what everyone else does.  Find your drummer and follow his beat.  Listen to that still small voice.  

Ask for guidance along the way.  God will never lead you astray. 

He’s the best drummer of all.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jill
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 14:18:44

    Thanks for the post. “We were a special kind of crazy,” brought a smile to my face.

    Reply

  2. jennibell
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 13:02:42

    I love this: “Challenge the status quo, rather than doing things just because it’s what everyone else does.”
    Good for you!!! GOD is the one to follow, not man.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

